Your question: How many Woreda are there in Ethiopia?

There are about 670 rural woreda and about 100 urban woreda.

How many zones are in Ethiopia?

The regions of Ethiopia are administratively divided into 68 or more zones (Amharic: ዞን, zonə).

How many Woreda are there in Addis Ababa?

The project interviewed officials from all 118 woredas in Addis Ababa, including to the 28 woredas from the SEDRI sampling frame used for the individual and firms. This survey represents the first full census of woreda administrators in the city.

What does Woreda mean in Ethiopia?

Filters. An administrative division of Ethiopia, managed by a local government. noun.

How many provinces are there in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia was divided into 12 provinces (taklai ghizat) by Imperial Ethiopian Government Decree No.

Is Ethiopia Islamic country?

Ethiopia has close historical ties to all three of the world’s major Abrahamic religions. Christians form the majority of the population. Islam is the second most followed religion, with 33.9% of the population being adherents.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the challenges of human right in Nigeria?

Which region is largest in Ethiopia?

The 2011 census reported the population of Oromia as 35,000,000; this makes it the largest regional state in population. It is also the largest regional state covering 286,612 square kilometers.

Oromia region.

Oromia region Oromiyaa
Country Ethiopia
Official language Oromo
Capital Addis Ababa

What is the largest Subcity in Addis Ababa?


Nr Subcity Area (km2)
1 Addis Ketema 7.41
2 Akaky Kaliti 118.08
3 Arada 9.91
4 Bole 122.08

What is the largest sub city in Addis Ababa?

The Bole sub- city, the focus of this study, is one of the largest sub- cities located in the eastern part of Addis Ababa.

How is Ethiopia divided?

Ethiopia is administratively divided into regional states and chartered cities, zones, woreda (districts) and kebele (wards).

What does kebele mean in English?

A kebele (Amharic: ቀበሌ; Oromo: Ganda; Tigrinya: ታቢያ, romanized: tābiyā, lit. ‘neighbourhood’) is the smallest administrative unit of Ethiopia: a ward, a neighbourhood or a localized and delimited group of people.

Which country capital is Addis Ababa?

Addis Ababa, also spelled Addis Abeba, capital and largest city of Ethiopia. It is located on a well-watered plateau surrounded by hills and mountains, in the geographic centre of the country.

How many zones are in Oromia?

8 The region is divided into 20 administrative zones, 30 town administrations, 287 rural and 46 town woredas (districts). 9 Oromia has experienced high and sustainable economic growth, which is mostly attributable to growth in the agricultural sector.

What is the population of Oromo in Ethiopia 2020?

Oromo people

Regions with significant populations
Ethiopia 35,175,000 (2020)
Kenya 470,700 (2019)
IT IS INTERESTING:  Is galamsey illegal in Ghana?

How many countries and nationalities are in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia is the oldest independent country in Africa and one of the world’s oldest – it exists for at least 2,000 years. The country comprises more than 80 ethnic groups and as many languages. Primarily their shared independent existence unites Ethiopia’s many nations.

What is capital city of Oromia region?

Regional States and Chartered Cities of Ethiopia

No. Region Capital City
8 Oromia Addis Ababa
9 Somali Jijiga
10 Tigray Mekele
11 Southern Nations Nationalities and People (SNNPR) Awasa
Across the Sahara