You asked: Who are the members of Judicial Service Commission in Kenya?

Who is the head of the Judicial Service Commission in Kenya?

Current Membership. The current membership of the JSC is as follows: Hon. Lady Justice Martha Koome, Chief Justice & President of the Supreme Court of Kenya – Chairperson of the Commission.

Who appoints judicial service commission?

Establishment of the Judicial Service Commission. (1) There is established the Judicial Service Commission. (h) one woman and one man to represent the public, not being lawyers, appointed by the President with the approval of the National Assembly.

Who is the chief administrator in the judiciary?

Administration within the Judiciary

The chief administrator of the Supreme Court is the Chief Justice, who is the President of the Supreme Court.

How are members of the Judiciary appointed?

The Members of the Supreme Court and judges of lower courts shall be appointed by the President from a list of at least three nominees prepared by the Judicial and Bar Council for every vacancy.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How is Ghana affected by climate change?

What is the role of the Judicial Service Commission?

The primary functions of the Commission are to: interview candidates for judicial positions and make recommendations for appointment to the bench; deal with complaints brought against the Judges; manage the Register of Judges’ Registrable interests; and advise national government on matters relating to the Judiciary.

Who makes the judiciary?

Other justices are appointed by the Supreme Court and serve for six years. Federal courts consist of the 11 ministers of the Supreme Court, 32 circuit tribunals and 98 district courts.

What is the composition of judicial?

It is composed of the chief justice as ex-officio chairman, the Secretary of Justice and representatives of Congress as ex-officio members, and a representative of the Integrated Bar, a professor of law, a retired member of the Supreme Court and a representative of the private sector as members.

What are judicial functions?

One of the major functions of the judiciary is to interpret and apply laws to specific cases. In the course of deciding the disputes that come before it, the judges interpret and apply laws. … This function is performed by the judges. The law means what the judges interpret it to mean.

What is the main function of judiciary in Kenya?

It establishes the Judiciary as an independent custodian of justice in Kenya. Its primary role is to exercise judicial authority given to it, by the people of Kenya. The institution is mandated to deliver justice in line with the Constitution and other laws.

How many chief justices have we had since the creation of the court?

Since the formation of the Court in 1790, there have been only 17 Chief Justices* and 103 Associate Justices, with Justices serving for an average of 16 years.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What does Cameroon look like?

Who appoints CJI of high court?

The Chief Justice and Judges of the High Courts are to be appointed by the President under clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution.

Who is the new CJ in Kenya?

List of Chief Justices

# Name (birth–death) Took office
12 Johnson Gicheru (1941–2020) 2003
13 Willy Mutunga (1947–) 2011
14 David Maraga (1951–) 2016
15 Martha Koome (1960 -) 2021

Who are the members of the Judicial Council?

The Judicial Council is made up of the following members:

  • The Chief Justice and the ordinary members of the Supreme Court.
  • The President of the Court of Appeal and the ordinary members of the Court of Appeal.
  • The President of the High Court and the ordinary members of the High Court.

Why is the judicial branch the most powerful?

The federal courts’ most important power is that of judicial review, the authority to interpret the Constitution. When federal judges rule that laws or government actions violate the spirit of the Constitution, they profoundly shape public policy.

What are the types of judiciary?

The judicial system of India is mainly consisting of three types of courts- the Supreme Court, The High Courts and the subordinate courts.

Across the Sahara