You asked: Which counties are in western Kenya?

Code County Former Province
37 Kakamega Western
38 Vihiga Western
39 Bungoma Western
40 Busia Western

How many counties are there in Western Kenya?

It covers a total of 11 counties in Western Kenya, namely; Kisumu, Homabay, Migori, Kisii, Nyamira, Siaya, Vihiga, Busia, Kericho, Bomet and Kakamega.

Which counties are in Western Province?

This region with the top performing counties has 4 counties namely, Bungoma, Vihiga, Kakamega and Busia and a population of nearly 4.5 million.

What is the main town of western Kenya?

Overview. Western Kenya’s major towns are Eldoret, Kitale, Kakamega, Kisumu, Kisii and Kericho. Eldoret is a bustling hub at which roads linking the Rift Valley, Northern Kenya and Western Kenya meet. Kitale is the gateway to Mt Elgon, Saiwa Swamp, Cherangani Hills and Marich Pass.

How many Subcounties are there in Kenya?

Figure1: The map of Kenya showing 47 counties (colored) and 295 sub-counties (numbered).

IT IS INTERESTING:  What do they call Santa Claus in Egypt?

Which is biggest county in Kenya?

Marsabit County (up to 2010 Marsabit District) is a county of Kenya. Covering a surface area of 66.923,1 square kilometres Marsabit is the largest county in Kenya. Its capital is Marsabit and its largest town Moyale.

Which is the largest and smallest county in Kenya?

1. Mombasa County. Mombasa County is Kenya’s county with the smallest landmass. The county’s meager land area occupies a total of 212.5 square kilometers and it is one of the prominent counties situated in Kenya’s former Coast Province.

Which is the largest county in western Kenya?

It is west of the Eastern Rift Valley and is inhabited mainly by the Luhya people. Quakerism is widely practised here. Kenya’s second highest mountain, Mount Elgon is located in Bungoma County.


County Busia
Former Province Western
Area (km2) 1,628.4
Population Census 2009 743,946
Capital Busia

What tribes are found in Western Province?

Ethnicity. The Lozi are the major ethnic group in the province. The Lozi are traditionally cattle-keepers.

How many districts are there in Western?

The present Western Region is left with 14 districts.


# 1
District Ahanta West
Capital Agona Nkwanta
Population Census 2010 106,215
Population Projection 2019 139,188

Is Kitale in western or Rift Valley?

Kitale is an agricultural town in northern Rift Valley Kenya situated between Mount Elgon and the Cherangany Hills at an elevation of around 1,900 metres (6,200 ft). Its population is 106,187 as of 2009. Kitale is the headquarter town of Trans-Nzoia County.

Where is the crying stone found in Kenya?

Crying Stone Of Ilesi. Its a great wonder located in Kakamega County, Western Kenya, easily accessible on foot from the main road. The water has been flowing from this stone since time immemorial.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What does Tayo mean in Yoruba?

Where did the name Kakamega come from?

Kakamega was so named because the word “kakamega” translates roughly to “pinch” in Kiluhyah, which was used to describe how European colonists would eat the staple food, ugali.

Who is the head of sub county in Kenya?

Sub-counties will be headed by a sub-county administrator, appointed by a County Public Service Board. Under the former Constitution of Kenya, the Provinces of Kenya were subdivided into a number of districts (wilaya).

How Kenya is divided?

Kenya is divided into eight provinces, namely, Nairobi (the capital city), Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley and Western.

Which is the smallest region in Kenya?

Nyanza Province

Nyanza Mkoa wa Nyanza
Country Kenya
No. of Counties: 6
Capital Kisumu
Across the Sahara