Who are the current governors in Nigeria?

State Governor Took office
Imo State Hope Uzodinma 2020
Jigawa State Badaru Abubakar 2019
Kaduna State Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai 2019
Kano State Abdullahi Umar Ganduje 2019

Who is the current Chairman of Governors Forum in Nigeria?

The Forum is led by a Chairperson, currently Aminu Waziri Tambuwal. He took over in January 2020 from Seriake Dickson the previous chairman of the Forum.

PDP Governors Forum.

Abbreviation PDPGF
Founder Goodluck Jonathan
Type Political
Region Nigeria
Chairman Aminu Waziri Tambuwal

Does Abuja have a governor?

Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria, is located in this territory. … Unlike the States of Nigeria, which are headed by elected Governors, it is administered by the Federal Capital Territory Administration, headed by a minister appointed by the President.

Who is the youngest governor?

The youngest current state governor is Ron DeSantis of Florida who was born on September 14, 1978. Among territorial governors, Ralph Torres of the Northern Mariana Islands is youngest, born on August 6, 1979. The youngest person to ever serve as a governor in the United States was Stevens T.

IT IS INTERESTING:  When was the first car driven in Nigeria?

Who is the first executive governor in Nigeria?

Governor-General of Nigeria, 1914–1919

Name Took office
Sir Frederick Lugard (1858–1945) 1 January 1914

Who is the chairman of governors?

National Governors Association
Chair Andrew Cuomo (D-NY)
Vice Chair Asa Hutchinson (R-AR)
Executive Committee Charlie Baker (R-MA) Doug Ducey (R-AZ) Larry Hogan (R-MD) Kay Ivey (R-AL) Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM) Jared Polis (D-CO) Gretchen Whitmer (D-MI)
Founded 1908

How many governors did Nigeria have?

The current party affiliation of the 36 state governors is: 16 People’s Democratic Party (PDP) 19 All Progressive Congress (APC) 1 All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

Which is richest state in Nigeria?

List of Nigerian states by GDP

Rank State GDP (in millions of USD)
1 Lagos State US$33,679
2 Rivers State US$21,073
3 Delta State US$16,749
4 Oyo State US$16,121

What is the name of the deputy governor of Nigeria?

Deputy Governor of Lagos State
Incumbent Femi Hamzat since 28 May 2019
Style His Excellency The Honorable (alternative)
Term length Four years
Inaugural holder Kofoworola Bucknor

Who is the governor of all state?

Current Indian governors

State (past governors) Name Appointed by
Karnataka (list) Vajubhai Vala Pranab Mukherjee
Kerala (list) Arif Mohammad Khan Ram Nath Kovind
Madhya Pradesh (list) Anandiben Patel (additional charge)
Maharashtra (list) Bhagat Singh Koshyari

What do you call a female governor?

The obsolete term for a female governor is the female form governess, however the modern term for female officials is the gender-neutral form governor (without the gender-specific suffix -ess) to avoid confusion with other meanings of governess.

Who is the youngest governor in Nigeria?

Chukwuebuka Anisiobi is the youngest governor to rule in Nigeria at the age of 16. He was the governor of Lagos state for one day after winning the spelling bee competition set by the then governor’s wife Oluremi Tinubu for students on the 6 June 2001.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the name of Lagos State Commissioner of Education?

How many times can a governor get elected?

How long does the Governor serve and can he or she serve more than one term? The governor holds the office for four years and can choose to run for reelection. The Governor is not eligible to serve more than eight years in any twelve-year period.

Who is first governor of Lagos State?

In May 1967, Lagos State was created and Johnson became the first governor of Lagos; the state was now composed of the old Federal Territory of Victoria Island, Ikoyi and Lagos Island plus the additions of the Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu and Ikeja divisions.

Who is first Prime Minister of Nigeria?

Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, KBE PC (December 1912 – 15 January 1966) was a Nigerian politician who was the first and only Prime Minister of Nigeria.

Who is the first general in Nigeria?

Major General Johnson Thomas Umunnakwe Aguiyi-Ironsi MVO, MBE (3 March 1924 – 29 July 1966) was the first Military Head of State of Nigeria.

Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi.

Major General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi MVO, MBE
Chief of Staff Babafemi Ogundipe
Preceded by Nnamdi Azikiwe
Succeeded by Yakubu Gowon
General Officer Commanding, Nigerian Army
Across the Sahara