When was Nigeria last election?

General elections were held in Nigeria on 23 February 2019 to elect the President, Vice President, House of Representatives and the Senate.

What was the date of 2015 election?

28.03.2015 – 29.03.2015

How often are Nigerian elections?

[5] Every four years, Nigeria conducts elections for these elected political offices in three phases: National Assembly elections, presidential elections, and gubernatorial as well as state Assembly elections.

When was Nigeria 2019 election held?

Who was elected as the Nigeria president in the year 2015 election?

Opposition candidate Muhammadu Buhari won the presidential election by more than 2.5 million votes. Incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan conceded defeat on 31 March, before the results from all 36 states had been announced.

When was Buhari voted into power?

This was the first time in the history of Nigeria that an incumbent president lost a general election. He was sworn in on 29 May 2015. In February 2019, Buhari was re-elected, defeating his closest rival former Vice President Atiku Abubakar by over 3 million votes.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is Kenya's number one export?

How long can you be president in Nigeria?

President of Nigeria

President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
Term length Four years, renewable once
Constituting instrument Constitution of Nigeria
Inaugural holder Nnamdi Azikiwe
Formation October 1, 1963

How are presidents chosen in Nigeria?

Nigerians elects on the federal level a head of state (the President of Nigeria) and a legislature (the National Assembly). The president is elected by the people. The National Assembly has two chambers. The House of Representatives has 360 members, elected for a four-year term in single-seat constituencies.

How many senators are there in Nigeria?

It consists of 109 senators: the 36 states are each divided in 3 senatorial districts each electing one senator; the Federal Capital Territory elects only one senator.

How many votes did Buhari get in 2019?


Candidate Running mate Votes
Muhammadu Buhari Yemi Osinbajo 15,191,847
Atiku Abubakar Peter Obi 11,262,978
Felix Nicolas Ado Baba 110,196
Obadiah Mailafia Nasiru Tanimowo Nurain Bolanle 97,874

How many states does PDP has in Nigeria?

The current party affiliation of the 36 state governors is: 16 People’s Democratic Party (PDP)

How many state in Nigeria is PDP?

Gubernatorial Election

23 of the 36 state Governors in Nigeria are PDP representatives.

What happened Nigeria 2015?

March 7 – A series of suicide bombings by Boko Haram in Maiduguri kills at least 54 people and wounds more than 140 others. March 8 – Forces from Niger and Chad launch a ground and air offensive against Boko Haram Islamist militants in northeastern Nigeria. March 28 – General elections are held.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How much is ticket from Beirut to Lagos?

What makes up the National Assembly?

Summary. Nigeria’s federal legislative body, the National Assembly, consists of two houses—the House of Representatives and the Senate. All members of the National Assembly are elected directly every four years.

Across the Sahara