What does Woreda mean in Ethiopia?

Filters. An administrative division of Ethiopia, managed by a local government. noun.

What is Woreda in English?

Districts in Ethiopia are commonly known as woreda (Amharic: ወረዳ “wäräda”; Oromo: Aanaalee (plural), Aanaa (singular)) and are the third-level of the administrative division of Ethiopia – after zones and the regional states.

How many Woreda are there in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia is divided into nine ethnically-based National Regional States: Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, Southern Nations Nationalities and People Region (SNNPR), Gambella, and Harari. There are two additional chartered cities: Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa.

How many zones and Woreda are there in Ethiopia?

The regions of Ethiopia are administratively divided into 68 or more zones (Amharic: ዞን, zonə).

How many Woreda are there in Addis Ababa?

The Districts of Addis Ababa — the 10 city districts of Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia.

Which region is rich in Ethiopia?

According to the regional government, the Amhara Highlands receive 80% of the total rainfall of Ethiopia and is the most fertile and hospitable region of Ethiopia. The Amhara region is the location of Lake Tana, the source of the Blue Nile, at Bahir Dar.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Does Ghana print its own money?

Which region is largest in Ethiopia?

The 2011 census reported the population of Oromia as 35,000,000; this makes it the largest regional state in population. It is also the largest regional state covering 286,612 square kilometers.

Oromia region.

Oromia region Oromiyaa
Country Ethiopia
Official language Oromo
Capital Addis Ababa

How is Ethiopia divided?

Ethiopia is administratively divided into regional states and chartered cities, zones, woreda (districts) and kebele (wards).

Does Ethiopia have zip code?

Postcodes do not exist in this country.

Is Ethiopia in West Africa?

Northern Africa countries (7) – Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, and Western Sahara. … East African countries (19) – Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Somaliland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

How many regions are in Ethiopia?

Regions of Ethiopia

Regions and chartered cities of Ethiopia
Location Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Created 1992
Number 10 regions, 2 chartered cities (as of 2020)
Government Region government

What is district in Ethiopia?

English: Districts, or woreda (Amharic: ወረዳ) (also spelled wereda), are the third-level administrative divisions of Ethiopia. Districts are further subdivided into a number of wards (kebele) or neighbourhood associations, which are the smallest unit of local government in Ethiopia.

What is the population of Ethiopia in 2020?

By 2020, Ethiopia is estimated to have a population of almost 115 million, with some experts predicting that Ethiopia may become one of the most populous countries in the world by 2100.

Which sub city is the biggest in Addis Ababa?


IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Where does the name Kenya originate from?
Nr Subcity Population
1 Addis Ketema 271,644
2 Akaky Kaliti 195,273
3 Arada 225,999
4 Bole 328,900

Where is Addis Ababa Zone 2?

Current Local Time in Addis Ababa Zone 2, Ethiopia

Country: Ethiopia
Type: Second-Order Administrative Division
Lat/Long: 9°00’N / 38°45’E
Currency: Birr (ETB)
Languages: Amharic, Oromiffa, Tigrinya

What is the largest sub city in Addis Ababa?

The Bole sub- city, the focus of this study, is one of the largest sub- cities located in the eastern part of Addis Ababa.

Across the Sahara