Best answer: Who was the Governor General of Nigeria between 1943 and 1948?

Name Took office Left office
Sir John Evelyn Shuckburgh (1877–1953) 1 July 1940 1942
Sir Alan Burns (1887–1980) 1942 18 Dec 1943
Sir Arthur Richards (1885–1978) 18 Dec 1943 5 February 1948
Sir John Macpherson (1898–1971) 5 February 1948 1 October 1954

Who was the governor of Nigeria between 1935 1943?

Bernard Henry Bourdillon

His Excellency Sir Bernard Henry Bourdillon GCMG KBE
Sir Bernard Henry Bourdillon by Bassano. 3 October 1932.
Governor of Nigeria
In office 1 November 1935 – 1943
Preceded by Sir Donald Charles Cameron

Who was the first Nigerian Governor General?

Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first and only indigenous Governor–General of Nigeria (1960–1963), and the first President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1963–1966), died on 11 May 1996.

Who is the first governor general?

Governor-General of India

Viceroy and Governor-General of India
Formation 20 October 1773
First holder Warren Hastings
Final holder Lord Mountbatten (February 1947 – August 1947 as Viceroy of India) Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari (1948–1950 as Governor-general of Dominion of India)
Abolished 26 January 1950
IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: What is the capital town of Egypt?

Who was the last colonial governor general in Nigeria?

Sir James Wilson Robertson, KT, GCMG, GCVO, KBE, KStJ was a British civil servant who served as the last colonial governor-general of Nigeria from 1955 to 1960.

How many governor generals are there?

List of governors-general

Name (Birth–Death) Term of office Appointer
Warren Hastings (1732–1818) 20 October 1773 East India Company (1773–1858)
Sir John Macpherson, Bt (acting) (1745–1821) 8 February 1785
The Earl Cornwallis (1738–1805) 12 September 1786
John Shore (1751–1834) 28 October 1793

Who gave the name Nigeria?

The name “Nigeria” was coined by the future Lady Lugard in an 1897 London Times article. With Lord Lugard’s arbitrary conception of Nigeria in mind, one can begin to see the many and varied problems colonialism created in Nigeria, across West Africa, and around the world.

Which is the highest court in Nigeria?

The Supreme Court of Nigeria (SCN), is the highest court in Nigeria, and is located in the Central District, Abuja, in what is known as the Three Arms Zone, so called due to the proximity of the offices of the Presidential Complex, the National Assembly, and the Supreme Court.

Who created the first political party in Nigeria?

The Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) was Nigeria’s first political party. Formed in 1923 by Herbert Macaulay to take advantage of the new Clifford Constitution, which succeeded the 1914 Nigerian Council.

What is difference between Governor and Governor General?

Governor General was the head of all governors of states under East India Company. After the power shifted in the hands of British Crown, Viceroy was appointed, who was the head of colonial India and governed the territory on behalf of British Crown.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much should you tip in Kenya?

What is difference between Viceroy and Governor General?

Governors-General and Viceroys were the main administrative cogs of British India who saw to it that the “Jewel in the Crown” of the British Empire.

Difference Between Governor-General and Viceroy.

Governor-General Viceroy
Chakravarti Rajagopalachari was the last Governor-General Lord Louis Mountbatten was the last Viceroy

Who appoints the governor general?

Appointed by the Sovereign under the advice of the Prime Minister, the Governor General usually holds office for five years. However, the term can continue beyond five years and is brought to an end by the installation or the swearing in of a successor.

Who is the second governor general of Nigeria?

Governors-General of Nigeria, 1954–1963

Name Took office Sovereign
Sir John Macpherson (1898–1971) 1 October 1954 Elizabeth II
Sir James Wilson Robertson (1899–1983) 15 June 1955 Elizabeth II
Nnamdi Azikiwe (1904–1996) 16 November 1960 Elizabeth II

Who was the first colonial administrator in Nigeria?

Nigeria’s Colonial Governor Generals (1912-1960)

Sir Fredrick Lord Lugard 1912 – 1919 First Governor General
Sir Creamer Thompson 1925 – 1931 3rd Governor General
Sir Donald Cameroon 1931 – 1935 4th Governor General
Sir Bernard Boundilion 1935 – 1943 5th Governor General
Sir Anthony Richard 1943 – 1948 6th Governor General

Who was the colonial governor?

British rule in the colonies was enforced by the colonial governor. He was usually appointed by the King and he served as the chief law enforcement officer in the colony. The governor seemed all powerful. But the royal governors often met determined resistance from colonial assemblies.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What year did ancient Egypt start?
Across the Sahara