Your question: What six countries does the equator pass through in Africa?

What countries in Africa does the equator pass through?

Equator passes through which of the following countries in Africa? Equator passes through the land of total 11 countries of the world viz. São Tomé & Príncipe, Gabon, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Indonesia, Ecuador, Colombia and Brazil.

What are the 6 countries in Africa that the equator passes through?

The equator is the only line of latitude which is a great circle. The lucky countries being crossed by the imaginary line in Africa include; Gabon, Democratic republic of Congo, Kenya, Uganda, Somalia, Principe and Sao Tome.

How many African countries Cross equator?

How many African countries does the Equator pass through? The Equator passed through a total of seven countries in Africa. Starting from the west to east these countries are: the island country of São Tomé and Príncipe, Gabon, Republic of Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Uganda, Kenya, and Somalia.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Where the risk of desertification is in Africa?

What are the six countries that the equator passes through?

The Equator passes through 13 countries: Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Sao Tome & Principe, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Maldives, Indonesia and Kiribati.

Which country is not located on the equator?

Libya is not located on the equator.

What European country is closest to Africa?

Separated by the Gibraltar straight; Spain is the closest European country to Africa.

Which country is closest to the equator?

The countries through which the equator runs are:

  • São Tomé and Principe.
  • Gabon.
  • Republic of the Congo.
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo.
  • Uganda.
  • Kenya.
  • Somalia.
  • Maldives.


What is the largest island in Africa?

Madagascar is the largest African island situated in the Indian Ocean, about 450 km (280 mi) east of the coast of Mozambique.

What is the smallest country in Africa?

1) Seychelles (451 km2) – The Smallest Country in Africa

It is the smallest African nation. The nation comprises of an archipelago containing 115 islands. With just 92,000 inhabitants it is the smallest sovereign country in Africa.

Which city is closest to the equator?

Quito is the closest capital city to the equator.

Is Kenya on the equator?

Kenya is positioned on the equator on Africa’s east coast. Its northernmost and southernmost points are approximately equidistant–a little over 40 north and south of the equator.

What cities sit on the equator?

10 Largest Cities on the Equator

  • Quito, Ecuador (0° 15′ 0″ S) …
  • Nairobi, Kenya (1°17′0″S) …
  • Cali, Colombia (3° 25′ 14″ N) …
  • Fortaleza, Brazil (3° 43′ 6″ S) …
  • Guayaquil, Ecuador (2° 11′ 0″ S) …
  • Medan, Indonesia (3° 35′ 0″ N) …
  • Singapore (1° 17′ 0″ N) …
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (3° 8′ 51″ N)
IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the oldest independent country in Africa?

How many countries are on the world?

Countries and Regions of the World from A to Z

Since South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011, there are now 195 independent sovereign nations in the world (not including the disputed but de facto independent Taiwan), plus some 60 dependent areas, and several disputed territories, like Kosovo.

Which country is at the center of the Earth?

Talk to people about Ghana and they might ask: “Where’s that?” Ghana is pretty much right at the centre of the world, being both close to the equator and on the Greenwich Meridian, which represents 0° longitude.

Which country is in the middle of the world?

Ghana is geographically closer to the “centre” of the Earth geographical coordinates than any other country; even though the notional centre, (0°, 0°) is located in the Atlantic Ocean approximately 614 km (382 mi) off the south-east coast of Ghana on the Gulf of Guinea.

Across the Sahara