Where is Equatorial Africa located?

Where is Equatorial Africa?

Equatorial Africa is made up of Democratic Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, and Gabon.

What does equatorial Africa refer to?

Equatorial Africa is an ambiguous term that sometimes is used to refer either to the equatorial region of Sub-Saharan Africa traversed by the Equator, more broadly to tropical Africa or in a biological and geo-environmental sense to the intra-tropical African rainforest region.

Which country is in the equatorial region?

The Answer:

The equator passes through 13 countries: Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Sao Tome & Principe, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Somalia, Maldives, Indonesia and Kiribati. For more information about these places, visit our Countries of the World page.

What is French Equatorial Africa now called?

French Equatorial Africa (French: Afrique-Équatoriale française), or the AEF, was the federation of French colonial possessions in Equatorial Africa, extending northwards from the Congo River into the Sahel, and comprising what are today the countries of Chad, the Central African Republic, the Republic of the Congo, …

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Where are minerals found in Africa?

What is the climate of equatorial Africa?

The majority of Equatorial Africa is dominated by tropical rainforests. This region receives anywhere from 100 to 500 centimeters of rainfall annually. Temperatures average about 90 degrees each day in the equatorial parts of this region. … Equatorial Africa is not densely populated.

Who colonized French Equatorial Africa?

French Equatorial Africa was a French colony in the late 1800s and early 1900s, located in the area now occupied by the countries of CAMEROON, GABON, the CONGO (BRAZZAVILLE), the CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC, CHAD, and SUDAN. France administered the colony in a heavy-handed and inefficient manner.

What is the main economic activity of equatorial Africa?

Farming is the main economic activity in Equatorial Africa. Some countries still depend on single-crop economies; others produce a variety of agricultural goods.

Does the equator go through Africa?

How many African countries does the Equator pass through? The Equator passed through a total of seven countries in Africa. Starting from the west to east these countries are: the island country of São Tomé and Príncipe, Gabon, Republic of Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Uganda, Kenya, and Somalia.

Which equator is South Africa?

South-Africa is 2,111.46 mi (3,398.06 km) south of the equator, so it is located in the southern hemisphere.

Which city is closest to Equator?

Quito is the closest capital city to the equator.

Which country is in the middle of the world?

Talk to people about Ghana and they might ask: “Where’s that?” Ghana is pretty much right at the centre of the world, being both close to the equator and on the Greenwich Meridian, which represents 0° longitude.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who must register for VAT in South Africa?

Where can you stand on the equator?

Visiting the Equator at Zero Latitude

The Middle of the World (Mitad del Mundo) where you can stand with one foot in the northern hemisphere and one foot in the southern hemisphere.

When was Congo part of French Equatorial Africa?

French Congo, French Congo Français, French possessions in Equatorial Africa from 1897 until 1910, when the colonies of Gabon, Middle Congo (Moyen-Congo), and Ubangi-Shari-Chad were federated under the name Afrique Équatoriale Française (AEF).

What country is Afrique Occidentale Francaise?

French West Africa (French: Afrique occidentale française, AOF) was a federation of eight French colonial territories in Africa: Mauritania, Senegal, French Sudan (now Mali), French Guinea (now Guinea), Côte d’Ivoire, Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso), Dahomey (now Benin) and Niger.

Where is French Gabon?

Gabon, country lying on the west coast of Africa, astride the Equator. A former French colony, Gabon retains strong ties to France and to the French language and culture. The capital is Libreville. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Across the Sahara