Quick Answer: Has an African nation ever won the World Cup?

1978: Tunisia registers the first African win at the tournament – defeating Mexico. … 2010: South Africa host the Football World Cup, inspire the world with the vuvuzela and a missed penalty in the 90th minute that cost Ghana a place in the semi–final.

Which African country has won the World Cup?


Country # Years
Egypt 3 1934, 1990, 2018
Ghana 3 2006, 2010, 2014
South Africa 3 1998, 2002, 2010
Senegal 2 2002, 2018

Which is the first African nation to ever win a World Cup game?

In 1934 Egypt became the first African team to play in the World Cup finals.

FIFA World Cup record Year 1934
Round Round of 16
Position 13th
Pld 1

Did Nigeria ever win World Cup?

Nigeria’s campaign in the 2014 FIFA World Cup opened with a disappointing 0–0 draw against Iran. Four days later the team played their second game against Bosnia and Herzegovina. A controversial 29th-minute Peter Odemwingie goal gave Nigeria their first World Cup win since 1998.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Where in Africa is black beach?

How many African countries have won the Under 20 World Cup?

Africa U-20 Cup of Nations

Founded 1979
Region CAF (Africa)
Number of teams 12
Current champions Ghana (4th title)
Most successful team(s) Nigeria (7 titles)

Which country has won the World Cup most?

FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup Trophy
Founded 1930
Number of teams 32 (finals)
Current champions France (2nd title)
Most successful team(s) Brazil (5 titles)

Which country has won more World Cup?

Most Number of FIFA World Cup Wins by a Team

No Country Year of Winning
1 Brazil 1958,1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
2 Germany 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014
3 Italy 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006
4 Argentina 1978, 1986

When did Egypt first qualify for the World Cup?

Egypt has qualified for the FIFA World Cup three times: in 1934, in 1990 and for the 2018 editions. Egypt was the first African country to qualify for the World Cup.

Has any African country reach semi final in World Cup?

In fact, this is only the third time an African team has reached this stage: first, through Cameroon at Italia ’90, and then Senegal at Korea-Japan ’02, and now Ghana at this year’s edition. …

Has Cameroon won the World Cup?

They were the first African team to reach the quarter-final of the FIFA World Cup in 1990, losing to England in extra time. They have also won five Africa Cup of Nations and Olympic gold in 2000.

Cameroon national football team.

FIFA ranking
World Cup
Appearances 7 (first in 1982)
Best result Quarter-finals, 1990
Africa Cup of Nations
IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: What percentage of clean water is available in North Africa?

Who is the greatest Nigerian footballer?

Former Nigeria striker and coach Daniel Amokachi has named former Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel as the greatest Nigerian player ever. Mikel enjoyed a successful international career with the Super Eagles before his retirement last July.

Why is Nigeria not in FIFA?

This is (hypothetically, not definitely) partially due to the laziness of EA employees and partially due a lack of interest among FIFA players to use African teams. I would say the latter is more prevalent; rarely anyone plays as an African team during international matches.

Who is the highest goal scorer in Nigeria?


# Name Goals
1 Rashidi Yekini 37
2 Segun Odegbami 23
3 Yakubu 21
4 Ikechukwu Uche 19

Which country won the Under 20 World Cup?

Ukraine won their first FIFA U-20 World Cup title after beating South Korea 3–1 in the final.

2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Mistrzostwa Świata U-20 w Piłce Nożnej 2019
Best player(s) Lee Kang-in
Best goalkeeper Andriy Lunin
Fair play award Japan
← 2017 2021 →

Did Nigeria under 20 qualify?

Nigeria have failed in their bid to qualify for the 2021 U20 Africa Cup of Nations following Ghana’s failure to defeat Cote d’Ivoire in Saturday’s Wafu U20 Zone B fixture.

Did Ghana U20 qualifying?

Ghana last qualified for the U20 World Cup in 2015 when they went on to reach the Round of 16 of the championship held in New Zealand. Zito’s outfit is three-time African champions (1993, 1999 and 2009) and 2009 world champions.

Across the Sahara